CNY Party with our American Friends

28 Jan 09 – I invited some of our American friends over for chinese lunch today. I took this opportunity to introduce our traditional foods and meaning to them.

1. Noodles for longevity
2. Dumplings shaped like ancient Chinese gold ingot, so they are called Fortune God Dumplings
3. New Year cake represents an increase in status every year
4. Spring rolls symbolised good harvest and prosperity
5. Sweets in candy box for prosperity in the new year

The girls also brought yummy desserts. I prepared way too much and we had a lot of left over. I was very happy to celebrate this special day with them. However, Tina and Amy would be moved back to States within a month. I am glad to know these wonderful ladies but feel sad to see them go. sob sob…..

img_6384img_9017

One Response to “CNY Party with our American Friends”

  1. Amy Manwaring Says:

    We had a wonderful time celebrating with you! Thank you so much for sharing in your special day with us. I’m going to miss you sooooooo much… ;o(

Leave a comment